Founding Facts


Your goal is to score at least 7 points to advance to the Score and Answer page.

If you don't get it the first time reload the page and start again.

1. Any power not given to the Federal Government by the Constitution or forbidden to the States belongs to:

The Supreme Court
The House of Representatives and the Senate
The States or the People
The Armed Forces

2. The Bill of Rights is:

Article 3 of The U.S. Constitution
The first 10 amendments to the Constitution
The 2nd Amendment
The Preamble to the Articles of Confederation

3. Which of these rights is given by the Constitution and Bill of Rights?

Freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom of religion, freedom to redress of grievances against the government, freedom of assembly.
The freedom to bear arms and own property.
All of the above rights are provided by the Constitution and Bill of Rights.
None of these, the Constitution and Bill of Rights do not provide rights.

4. The Declaration of Independence was signed by Congress on this date

July 2nd 1776
July 4th 1776
August 2nd 1776
December 7th 1776

5. The addition of a Bill of Rights was controversial at first. Alexander Hamilton argued against the addition in part because:

He believed in a powerful central government.
He believed that naming specific rights might lead people to assume they did not have others left unmentioned.
He did not believe in individuals rights.
He believed in the "goodness of men" that would run the government

6. The longest period of time that any one person can serve as President is:

12 Years
10 Years
8 Years
6 Years

7. The first word in the Declaration of Independence is:


8. According to the Declaration of Independence the government gets its power from:

From the Constitution
From the Supreme Court
From elected representatives
From the consent of the governed.

9. The U.S. Constitution guarantees the states:

A secure pension system.
A republican form of government.
The spread of democracy.
The right to make any laws it deems necessary.

10. The Declaration of Independence states that the purpose of government is

To protect natural rights.
To defend the country from armed invasion.
To provide a system of checks and balances.
To provide the material needs of its people.

11. War may only be declared by:

The President
The Congress
The Department of Defense
The Secretary of Defense

12. An amendment can become a part of the Constitution after being ratified:

By a Majority of the Senate
By a three-fourths majority of Congress
By conventions in three-fourths of the States
By The House of Representatives

13. Tax bills may be written only by:

The Treasury Department
The House of Representatives
The Senate
The Executive branch

This quiz was generated by QuickQuizCreator.